Jessica Jones Season One Review

Jessica Jones Season One

This post contains spoilers for the first season.

 
Back in November I reviewed the first episode if Netflix’s brand new series Jessica Jones. Now I’ll give my thoughts on the entire first season.

 
Jessica Jones (Krysten Ritter)had a short lived career as a superhero which ended in tragedy. Now a P.I she has isolated herself from everyone including her foster sister and best friend Trish (Rachael Taylor). When she is hired by a couple to fund their missing student daughter Hope(Erin Moriarty), she realizes her enemy Kilgrave (David Tennant), a man who can control people, is back. Jessica has to decide whether to run from or face her fears.

 
First off – in my opinion – the series is a triumph. While I admired the look and fight scenes of Daredevil I found it hard to care about the plot or characters. Jessica Jones however had me gripped throughout. Its first episode was perhaps a bit slower in the set up but after a mind controlled Hope kills her parents the series is not unafraid to challenge our expectations. Jessica is a tough talking, hard drinking woman who doesn’t believe she’s a hero. Yet despite herself she can’t help but want to do the right thing. In this case, to save Hope. The series is not exactly subtle in having Hope symbolizing the old Jessica or that she feels saving Hope will somehow save herself but that doesn’t mean the show will goes easy on our hero. Jessica may be the good guy but she may not always win and she can’t save everyone.

 
Krysten Ritter is phenomenal as Jessica, bitter, cynical and cold she may be but deep down she wants to protect those she cares about. Ritter portrays this complicated heroine well. Another actress might be worried about playing a potentially unlikeable character but the writers and Ritter seems confident enough to let the audience work out Jessica for themselves and let her back story fill in the gaps for her behavior. Having a character as tough and unflappable as Jessica also has more meaning for when we see her scared reaction to having Kilgrave back in her life. This nemesis is hinted at and seen briefly in the first few episodes building him up so when we see him at work we understand fully why she fears him so much.

 
As the villiabous Kilgrave David Tennant is unnervingly creepy. He puts my skin on edge. The show is also not afraid the call the character what he is – a rapist. It’s terrifying that Kilgrave genuinely does not understand what he has done to Jessica. He believes because he took her to fancy restaurants and hotels it does not matter that she could not give her consent as he controlled her mind with his orders. No matter how many times Kilgrave claims he is not responsible for his various crimes (either because people didn’t die directly by his hands or because he claims to have had a bad childhood) the other characters repeatedly call him out for it.

 

 
Thankfully for such a dark and at times bleak series there is some humor to be had. Jessica has plenty of dry oneliners and I also enjoyed the various characters making fun of Kilgrave’ pompously overly dramatic name.

 
We are also given our first look at Luke Cage, a love interest of Jessica and who will soon be starring in his own Netflix series. Mike Colter is great bar owner Luke who proves a match for Jessica strength wise and does not put up with any of her attitude either. As much as I like Luke though I’m glad that the series central focus is the friendship between Jessica and Trish. With Jessica being so aloof, Trish brings some much needed warmth to Jessica and the show itself. It’s also nice that a positive female friendship is an important part of the show.

 
A few aspects don’t work out so well, cop Will (Will Traval) starts off as an interesting side character but then his sub plot ends up distracting from Jessica. Lawyer Jerry (an associate of Jessica’s played by Carrie-Anne Moss) and her divorce also gets tedious at times but it does have a brilliantly bloody denouement.

 
After a fantastic first season I hope that Netflix do the right thing and renews this series for a second. Until then at least we’ll be seeing Jessica in the eagerly anticipated Defenders series. And I would love to see her come face to face with The Avengers like Captain America and Iron Man. Come on Marvel make it happen!
.

8 Comments

Filed under Reviews

8 responses to “Jessica Jones Season One Review

  1. Not quite in love with this show as many others were. Thought it had some nice moments, but overall, was way too slow and plodding for me to fully care. However, Tennat was great and I wish to see more of him anywhere at any time. Nice review.

  2. Good review! I enjoyed this season. Not only does it leave me wanting a second season, I’m very interested in the Luke Cage series. If I do have a couple of nitpicks it’s that Kilgrave escaped too often, it could have been a tighter story if the season was 10 episodes. I also agree about Will and how his storyline ended up.

    • Thanks, I’m glad you liked the show too. The Luke Cage show will hopefully be great, the character was so good in Jessica Jones. Yes I agree about Kilgrave getting away so much-by the end it was getting a bit ridiculous!

  3. Hi Lauren, great review yo. You already know my thoughts on the show but I’m glad that you enjoyed the show so much especially when it came to the performances from Ritter and Tennant. I thought Kilgrave was an amazing villain, and while his motivations may seem small and trivial, I appreciated it in comparison to your generic take over the world kind of villain.

    I think I was the only one who didn’t mind Will Simpson, I mean at first I wasn’t keen on his continued appears after he came into Trish’s life (especially with their relationship which I didn’t care for), but I can understand how his subplot got in the way of Jessica’s adventures.

    I really hope the show gets a second season because the foundations made in this first season feel too good to leave alone.

    • I think what made Kilgrave so scary was the fact that deep down he was really petty, any slight thing could set him off! Tennant was great as a villian. They’ll have to work really hard for the next villian to beat him! Hope it won’t be too long before they announce a second season!

  4. I loved this show, loved the character, loved the relationships, loved the baddie. Favourite line: “It’s people like you that give people like you a bad name.”

Leave a Reply

