Star Wars VII The Force Awakens

Star Wars Force

The hype has been building ever since it was announced a further Trilogy would be added to the Star Wars franchise. Then at the end of last year The Force Awakens was released. I’m probably one of the last people to see this movie, but will it reboost the franchise or become a franchise killer?

30 years after the fall of the Empire and a new villianous group called the First Order is trying to take off where the Empire left off. As the Resistence, led by General Leila (Carrie Fisher), tries to fight the First Order a new batch of young heroes Finn (John Boyega) and Rey (Daisy Ridley) get drawn into the fight and begin to discover their destinies.

I like the original Star Wars movies but I’ve never been a huge Star Wars fan. I guess I was more into Star Trek. Having said that The Force Awakens had me enthralled throughout. The film manages to find the right balance between using the original and new cast as well as appealing to die-hard fans and those who have no idea what a jedi is before watching this film.

JJ Abrahams deserves a lot of credit for successfully bringing such a beloved series back. He manages to mix special effects and practical stunts together to bring us many stunning set pieces and action scenes. But he doesn’t neglect the emotional aspects of the film, which may see a few tears come to the eye of many a seasoned film-goer.

It was great seeing Harrison Ford and Carrie Fisher back together again. Ford in particular provides so many great moments and work well with the younger cast. Speaking of the newest memebers of the Star Wars family Boyega and Ridley are both fantastic in their new roles. Finn and Rey were both sympathetic and likeable characters. And who doens’t want to have their own BB8 now after seeing the film! The new baddies also made an impression with Adam Driver in particular making his mark as the villianous Kylo Ren. It was a shame we didn’t get to see more of Game of Thrones star Gwendoline Christie as Captain Phasma. I also felt Oscar Isaac’s Poe Domeron wasn’t as developed as well as Finn or Rey. All I knew about him is that he’s a great pilot. But considering how good Issac is I’m sure he’ll get more to do in further films.

The success of The Force Awakens almost banishes away the bad memories of the prequels  (well almost).

Rating 4/5 – a brilliant sequel, Rian Johnson has a high standard to fill for Episode VIII.

13 Comments

Filed under Reviews

13 responses to “Star Wars VII The Force Awakens

  1. One of the things I liked about this movie is that it recaptured that Star Wars feeling and magic while adding new characters, especially Rey, Finn, BB8 & Kylo Ren, that I want to see more of in future sequels. Good review!

  2. Dan

    I enjoyed this one as much as you. Thought Abrams did a terrific job. It’ll be interesting to see how the talented Rian Johnson gets on with the sequel. It’ll also be interesting to see how the spin-off Rogue One compares.

    • I enjoyed Johnson’s previous work-Brick was really original and Looper shows he can handle Sci-fi elements so I’m optimistic about Episode VIII. I’m also looking forward to Rogue One as I like Felicity Jones other works so I think she will be a great lead.

  3. Hi Lauren, how are you? I’ve had this review on tab and made sure I didn’t miss it and here I am. Anyway I’m glad that you’ve finally had a chance to see the film and enjoyed it. Did manage to avoid getting spoiled or did you find out some of the film’s secrets?

    I really loved seeing this in IMAX and I think it captured the magic of the original films so well and had a nice balance between nostalgia and new elements. It rely heavily on A New Hope, but I can forvgive the film’s flaws when it was so fun. I really loved all of the new characters especially Finn and I want a BB-8 of my own, that droid is a amazing.

    But what I’m really excites me is the further of this franchise as the foundations really open the doors for something amazing in Episode VII especially with Rian Johnson at the helm.

    • Hi I’m great thanks. I was lucky no one spoiled the film for me before I saw the movie. I know some people who had the plot ruined on twitter which must have been annoying. I didn’t get to see it in IMAX, I imagine it would have looked really good.
      I love BB-8. At the cinema a small boy came up to me and my sister and started showing us his own toy BB-8 which he was controling through his tablet! It’s great that the film seems to be encouraging new fans!

  4. Agree with you wholeheartedly about the overall film. I would have liked to see more of Poe, especially in a friendship with Finn, given that they escaped together at the start of the film. Nevertheless, I think the film has provided a solid foundation for the next two films, which will no doubt be established as brilliant films in their own right.

  5. Thanks for that! Great review!

Leave a Reply

