Ghostbusters (2016)

Ghostbusters

Like a lot of people I’m not a huge fan of Hollywood remakes of classic movies. Why not just create something original? However the onslaught of abuse director Paul Feig and the cast of the new Ghostbusters movies got when the remake was announced was insane. I, however didn’t have a problem with an all female cast taking the reigns of this reboot and as the trailer looked quite funny (the opposite of the opinion of Youtube) I decided to give it a shot.

When New York City starts experiencing supernatural ghostly attacks, it’s up to Abby (Melissa McCarthy), Erin (Kristen Wiig), Jillian (Kate McKinnon) and Patty (Leslie Jones)-aka the Ghostbusters- to catch the ghosts.

Considering all the negatives vibes directed towards this movie, Ghostbusters is much better than the naysayers would have you believe. It’s four female leads all work well together and are an instantly likeable and funny bunch. They all have their distinct personalities and the script seems to play to their strengths. If I had to single out one for priase then Wig’s uptight but increasingly badass Erin was the one I enjoyed the most, but all of the cast get their moments to shine. Also a revalation is Chris Hemsworth in a supporting role as dim receptionist Kevin. Turns out as well as being ridiculously good looking he’s also hilarious too.

While Ghostbusters is a great movie it’s not the classic that it so wants to be. For one thing it is a bit too concerned with cameos from the surviving actors of the first movie. A tighter plot and a better villian would also help.

Hopefully the film will soon be remembered for being better than your normal remake and not for the controversy and insults directed to it’s director and it’s actresses. Come on people, it’s 2016 we should be above hurling sexist and racist abuse at each other!

Rating 3.5/5 – if you’re looking for an amusing supernatural comedy you’d do worse then calling on the new Ghostbusters

4 Comments

Filed under Reviews

4 responses to “Ghostbusters (2016)

  1. I’ll probably give this one a look on video, it’s been getting decent enough reviews despite the initial backlash. I also heard about the too many cameos issue. Good review.

  2. Cool review Lauren, your views seem to be similar to most reviews I’ve seen on this film. Personally I’m not sure if I’ll ever see this film though I a curious. Ghostbusters 84 is one of my all time favourite films and in my teens I watched it repeatedly on VHS, so I’m absurdly attached. And my reason for not watching the film is not because the main cast are females, but more so that I’m not keen on Paul Feig’s style of humour so I’m just giving this film a pass.

    • Thanks, no I understand not being too keen on a remake-especially if the original Ghostbusters is one of your favourites. It would be like if someone remade the Goonies! And yes Feig’s humour is not for everyone.

Leave a Reply

