The Boy

TheBoy_2016-OfficialPoster

Dolls are creepy! Thats just a fact. So if I was asked to babysit a doll for some weird family I’d run for the hills. But then that wouldn’t make for a good horror movie would it.

Greta (Lauren Cohan) is an American in England who takes a job with an ederly couple (Jim Norton and Diana Hardcastle) as a nanny. However when she meets their “son” Brahms, she finds he is a procaline doll that they treat like a real child after their real son Brahms died in a fire. Needing the money and to escape from her past Greta accepts the job while the couple goes on holiday. When she fails to follow the family’s strict rules for taking care of Brahms, strange things soon start happening in the house and Greta is wondering if the doll Brahms is really alive.

I was a bit dubious about this film before I went to see it, but The Boy was a surprisingly enjoyable movie. Yes it can be silly in places but it was also thrilling at times and kept my attention throughout. I also did not see the twist coming in the last third which is always a good thing.

The performances are not bad for a horror movie. Cohan is a likeable and sympathetic lead despite the character being a fool for accepting the job in the first place. Norton and Hardcastle are both darkly comical and unnerving as the Heelshire family who are the “parents” of Brahms. While Rupert Evans is amicable enough as the potential love interest and tries hard to be a more three dimensional character than just the “exposition” guy.

 

 

As for the doll, Brahms is creepier than I found him in the trailer and the film does have a sinister undertone throughout. It’s just a shame the film doesn’t build more on this. A few good jump scares aside there isn’t any stand out frightening moments or scenes that have you screaming in the cinema.

Rating 3/5 – ludicrous yes but gives some effective chills along the way

6 Comments

Filed under Reviews

6 responses to “The Boy

  1. I’m pretty sure I’d turn to prostitution before I’d babysit a creepy doll. No one needs money that badly!

  2. Hi Lauren how are you? Cool review yo, this is one of the few 2016 horror films that I was curious to see. The trailer caught my interest and the fact that Lauren Cohan was in it got me even more intruiged, but I don’t know if I’ll get around to seeing it in the cinema. But hopefully I’ll see it before the year’s out.

  3. Jay

    Dolls ARE creepy. We used to taunt my sister by turning her porcelain doll so that it was always staring at her in bed. Good times.

Leave a Reply

