R.I.P David Bowie and Alan Rickman

This week has seen two great losses in the entertainment world. On 10 January David Bowie passed away age 69 from cancer. Then today the sad news broke that Alan Rickman had also died age 69 from cancer. There’s not much I can say that others haven’t already said and much more elequently than me, but here’s a few words about each of them.

My first recollection of David Bowie is his role as Jared, the Goblin King from Labyrinth. I thought he was amazing and I still love that film even now. Over the years I have loved many of his songs from Lets Dance to Golden Years. He was trully original musical icon that will be missed.

David Bowie

I have loved Alan Rickman ever since his villianous turn in Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves. No offence to Kevin Costner’s Robin Hood but this movie is all about Rickman’s Sherriff of Nottingham. Since then I’ve seen him in Die Hard, Galaxy Quest, Love Actually among various other works and he usually steals the film out from everyone else. A class act that was always entertaining and watchable.

Alan Rickman

I’m sure that many people will be listening to their songs or watching their movies this weekend to celebrate their life achievements.

If you say run, I’ll run with you
If you say hide, we’ll hide
Because my love for you
Would break my heart in two
If you should fall
Into my arms
And tremble like a flower

(Lets Dance-David Bowie)

10 Comments

Filed under Opinion

10 responses to “R.I.P David Bowie and Alan Rickman

  1. May they both rest in peace.

    I loved Rickman in the Harry Potter movies.

  2. What a sad week it’s been, two big losses.

  3. This week has just made me want to break down a little. First Bowie which was a bad enough loss, but then Rickman too? Cancer is just an asshole yo! Great choice of lyrics from Let’s Dance, that’s one of my favourite parts of that song.

    • I know I think so many people are just in shock about the events of this week. Two greats gone in a few days of each other, at the same age and from the same thing. Cancer just sucks!
      I was trying to think of what lyrics to include and I chose that because it’s one of my favourites and Bowie’s voice is so mesmarising and haunting when he sings it, probably even more so now.

Leave a Reply

