Rapid Review: Making A Murderer

Making a Murderer

Netflix documentary series Making A Muderer is the story of Steven Avery, a man who was imprisoned for sexual assult and attempted murder of Penny Beernsten in 1985 for 18 years until he was fully exonerated for the crimes of another man. Three years of freedom followed until 2005 when Avery was arrested again, this time for the murder of Teresa Halbach.

Why is this a rapid review? Simply put it’s because you should stop reading and watch this series now. The first episode is even on Youtube for those who don’t have Netflix. I binged watched the whole ten episodes over two days as I was so compelled by the series. The filmakers Laura Ricciardi and Moira Dermos filmed this over ten years and their series throws up a lot of questions regarding the case.

Being from the UK I wasn’t as familiar with this case as those from the US may be and it’s hard to know if some bias isn’t being shown. It must also be difficult for the family of Teresa Halbach to have this all dragged up again. But having viewed the series it’shard to disagree that the this case should be looked at again and more thoroughly than before. There is so much that needs to be explained and accounted for. It’s a scary and thought provoking look at the justice system, that needs to be seen. So please go watch it!

 

10 Comments

Filed under My Kind Of Tv

10 responses to “Rapid Review: Making A Murderer

  1. I’ve heard a lot of buzz behind this show as of recent and after watching Jeremy Jahns’ review and reading your quick thoughts I’m really thinking of checking out and seeing what the hype is about.

    • I would definately recomend it, the subject matter is a bit heavy but it does make you question a lot of things in the justice system. I’d be interetsed to see what you think of the case after you’ve watched it.

  2. This is the one programme everyone seems to have watched but me! I think I might have to check this out, as it appears such an interesting case.

  3. Such an amazing show, I couldn’t stop watching once I started!

    • I know I was so gripped I had to get up early the next day to carry on where I left off the night before. It’s amazing all the stuff thats been happening after the show as well. So many people have an opinion on it, it’s really has captured everyone’s attention.

Leave a Reply

