Sin City: A Dame to Kill For

Sin CitySin City, where men are men and women are whores. Back in 2005 Sin City was a box office hit and the sequel directed by Robert Rodriguez and Frank Miller arrived earlier this year. But can it match its predessessors success?

Based upon Frank Miller’s Sin City graphic novel series, this sequel follows four stories set in the town of Sin City. Marv (Mickey Rourke) teaches some frat boys a lesson. Johnny (Joseph Gordon Levitt), a cocky gambler goes up against the corrupt Senator Roark (Powers Boothe). Dwight McCarthy (Josh Brolin taking over the role from Clive Owen) is reunited with his former lover, Ava Lord (Eva Green). Meanwhile Nancy Callahan (Jessica Alba) plans to get revenge on Senator Roark for his part in the death of Hartigan (Bruce Willis).

I liked the first Sin City but I think Rodriguez and Miller left it too long to bring this sequel to life. I think there would have been more of a market for it if they had made this a couple of years after the first film. As it is I’m not sure if anyone was eagerly awaiting this film now.

The best story focuses on Dwight and his crazy ex lover Ava. This story is mostly good because of Eva Green, who once again plays a bat shit crazy femme fatale with aplomb, throwing herself into the role (and shedding most of her clothes as well). She pumps life into this movie and is thoroughly entertaining.

The rest of the movie just falls a bit flat in comparison. While it’s good to see fan favourite Marv back again it got slightly repetitive having Marv pop up every story, as if the film is running out of ideas. I did like Johnny’s story until the end which just left me thinking is that it? Nancy’s story was also lacking even though it seemed like a good idea on paper. tellingly Nancy and Johnny’s story were both original stories written for the movie rather than from the comic.

While the film still looks stylish it’s not as visually enticing as was back in 2005. Overall it’s not a bad film, just not an essential one.

Rating 2.5/5 – Eva Green is fabulous but the film itself is a step down from the original

9 Comments

Filed under Reviews

9 responses to “Sin City: A Dame to Kill For

  1. I have to agree with you, Eva Green was fabulous but this movie didn’t measure up to the first one.

  2. So want to see Eva Green do far more films. I haven’t seen Penny Dreadful but she’s supposed to be amazing.

  3. I haven’t seen this one but I loved the first Sin City. I might have to see this for Eva Green. Good review!

  4. Cool review Lauren, I was going to check this film out last summer, but whne the reviews came out it really turned me away from it. Sin City is one of my favourite films from 2005 (even though I didn’t see until a few years later) and I think I’ll just act like the first film exists for the time being haha.

Leave a Reply

