Poltergeist (2015)

I watched Poltergeist when I was younger and it did find it a bit freaky (not as scary as A Nightmare on Elm Street though, I was afraid to go to sleep for a year after watching that!). Now we have the remake produced by Sam Raimi of Evil Dead fame. But will this remake be terrifying for all the wrong reasons?

The Bowen family are moving into a new house after the father Eric (Sam Rockwell) loses his job. Soon son Griffin (Kyle Catlett) is seeing strange things in the house but no one is listening to him. That is until one night the house goes berserk and youngest daughter Maddison goes missing. Can the family bring her back to them and fight the Poltergiest?

I often have low expectations when it comes to remakes, especially of horror movies. And films like Poltergiest is the reason why. Simply put it was not scary. Mostly I just felt bored.

Maybe it didn’t help that I re watched the original not long before watching the new version. While the original didn’t scare me like it did when I was younger it was better in practically every aspect than the 2015 film. Even the special effects weren’t that good. There didn’t feel like there was a good enough build up and when the family start getting attacked I didn’t feel terrified or particularly scared for them. I just wanted to get it over with. Considering how much the film’s advertising has been spent showcasing the toy clown, and it does provide a few creepy moments, the film squanders it’s opportunity to be really scary. Disappointing.

Sam Rockwell and Rosemarie DeWitt try their best as the parents of the Bowen family but you could tell they probably only signed onto this film for the money. The children are not interesting, and I think it was the wrong move to make Griffin the centre of this movie as he was just not a strong enough character to hold the film. And he got really irritating after a while. Jared Harris’ Carrigan Burke had potential as a tv personality with his own Paranormal show who actually can contact the dead. But ultimately he isn’t as memorable as Zelda Rubinstein’s spiritual medium Tangina Barrons in the original.

In my opinion even die-hard horror fans should avoid this like the plague. Unless you’re glutton for punishment then Poltergeist will more likely have you falling asleep in the cinema rather than have you hiding behind your chair.

Rating 1.5/5 – slow, dull and with very few scares

4 Comments

Filed under Reviews

4 responses to “Poltergeist (2015)

  1. “Simply put it was not scary”

    I’ll stay away from this one. Cool review.

  2. Glad I skipped this one, I was genuinely interested in this before the trailers came out. I knew it wouldn’t outdo the original but I was curious to know what a modern interpretation would be like. Unfortunately it seems from the reviews that this is another remake that’s all bark and no bark and now bite. I liked the original, saw it a few years ago for the first time, I found it more funny than scary, but that’s probably because of the era of films I’ve grown up on, but that being said there was an atmospheric tone and family element that was very strong and i wasn’t sure this film would be able to capture that. Great review as always Lauren! 😀

Leave a Reply

