X-Men: Days of Future Past

I used to love watching the X-Men cartoon as a kid, so I’ve always had a soft spot for the mutants. Despite a few fumbles along the way (particularly The Last Stand and Wolverine: Origins), I’ve enjoyed the big screen version of the X-Men. But with time travel and a huge ensemble involved in this sequel will it be an epic adventure or an overloaded mess?

In the future robots called Sentinels are killing mutants. Things have gotten so bad that Magneto (Ian McKellen) and Professor X(Patrick Stewart) have come together with a small band of surviving mutants to try to set things right. When Kitty Pryde (Ellen Page) is able to send Wolverine (Hugh Jackman) back in time (it makes more sense in the film-kind of), he tries to bring together the younger version of Charles (James McAvoy) and Erik (Michael Fassbender) to stop Mistique (Jennifer Lawrence) from making a terrible mistake that will affect all the mutants.

Ok first up the bad points. Anyone who reads this blog knows how much of a fan I am of Jennifer Lawrence. However this was not her best film. Not that she was awful but she looked like she bored the whole way through. It may be because her character Mistique didn’t have a powerful character arc this time around. Most of the time her character was just there to be in the middle of a power struggle between two men. Boring. I also didn’t understand how the character Kitty Pryde got the power to send Wolverine back in time in the first place. Maybe I missed something.

Thankfully there is plenty of good things in this movie. The highlight of which is Quicksilver (Evan Peters), one of the new mutants brought into the film franchise. He’s of particular interest because his character is appearing in both this movie and in The Avengers: Age of Ultron. Based on what we’ve seen here, Marvel Studios have got their work cut for them trying to beat this version. Peters’ speedster Quicksilver has just a few scenes but his Quicksilver is funny and interesting. The sequence when we see things from his perspective as he speeds up and everyone slows down is brilliantly realised. The humour, the music, everything is perfect. I’m also glad they kept him to just those scenes as he could have been overused but instead it’s one of the memorable moments of the film.

Out of the future mutants I was really interested in was Blink (Fan Bingbing) and her portal creating abilities. I hope we get to see more of her. While it could have been mutant overload with the two timeline worth of characters sharing the screen, the film never feels messy and it easily flits back and forth between the two settings. There is also a lot of welcome humour amidst all the drama. Jackman’s Wolverine has a lot of the best lines and it’s always fun to watch him step back into the role. It’s also great to see both versions of Magneto and Professor X again, and we even get a scene where both Charles face each other for a pep talk.

Occasionally this movie drags a bit in between the action. However it tends to pick itself up again quite quickly. And I have to say I love the ending. The last few scenes are great and leaves you eagerly anticipating the next film.

Rating 4/5 – exciting, fun and full of action, in other words a great summer blockbuster

18 Comments

Filed under Reviews

18 responses to “X-Men: Days of Future Past

  1. Yeah Blink was great, I loved the action scenes with her, they were so inventive

  2. Nice review, Lauren… would give the same rating & First Class is still the finest X-Men film for me… but this was surprisingly awesome & managed to live up to its hype.

    Although, my review is more positive compared to this one. Haven’t read the comics or watched its cartoon, so I just digested whatever was offered by Bryan Singer šŸ˜€

    • Thanks, hopefully the X-Men films will continue in this direction and maintain the quality.

      • I think this chapter wonderfully concluded the original X-Men Trilogy and now the events & characters of First Class can move forward without any baggage. Really hoping that it’s Bryan Singer who helms X-Men: Apocalypse as well.

  3. Such a fun movie. Reminded me exactly why I loved this franchise so much in the first place. Good review Lauren.

  4. Good review. I completely agree with you about Quicksilver.

  5. I loved the cartoon too. I used to think Gambit and Rogue would be the coolest couple ever. Cool review too.

    • Thanks. I liked those characters too. There’s meant to be Gambit film in development-that should be interesting.

      • Oh? What do you know? Would love it. Would love to dress at him for a costume party.

      • I think it’s just rumours but one of the producers of the X-Men films have said they are in the process of developing a Gambit film, possibly with Channing Tatum in the lead role. Not sure if Tatum would be right for the role, but then I never thought he could do comedy either until 21 Jump Street so who knows? I don’t think anything has been offically confirmed yet though.

  6. Cool review Lauren, glad you got around to reviewing this one because I love reading your thoughts on films.

    I pretty much agree ith most of your positives, Jackman’s Wolverine is still badass and funny, Quicksliver proved me wrong and shows that Marvel Studios have to prove themselves with Avengers 2. And I loved James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender as young Charles and Magneto, best performances they’ve given in their roles. But there was also a lot of love I felt for Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellan in the future, they were so beautiful to watch.

    • Thanks very much!

      I thought I was going to hate Quicksilver in this film but he was great, and all his scenes were brilliant. I’m so glad that both versions of Magneto and Charles were in this film. It was fantastic when McAvoy and Stewart faced each other. I would have liked a scene where Fassbender and McKellan met too but you can’t have everything.

  7. Good review. I liked the film, I mean I have some problems from a total comic nerd point of view but yeah its good.

    The visuals and 70’s timeline worked really well and the acting was really good. Quicksilver steals the show.

    This wasnt greatness but Apocalypse might šŸ˜€

    • I know it leaves me pretty hopeful about the next film and the future of the X-Men franchise. And I think Quicksilver will appear again in the next film so that’s already something good.

Leave a Reply

