The Amazing Spider-Man 2

I’ve always enjoyed the Spider-Man character, and despite my initial reservations I liked the 2012 reboot The Amazing Spider-Man.

Having graduated from high school Peter Parker (Andrew Garfield) and on/off girlfriend Gwen Stacey (Emma Stone) are trying to work out their complicated love life. Meanwhile Harry Osborn, an old friend of Peter’s, is in New York with a secret of his own, and a new villain Electro (Jamie Fox) is causing problems for Spidey.

First of all this film does not fall into the trap of Spider-Man 3 and become overwhelmed by the amount of villains onscreen. Out of the film’s baddies only Rhino (Paul Giamatti) feels like he was tacked on to give the film more villains. Fox is great as Electro, a guy desperate to be seen even before his unfortunate accident. Even better is DeHaan as Harry. Given a powerful motivation for his actions its easy to get swept along in his descent into villainy. He almost steals the show away from Garfield and Stone. But not quite. This is their movie.

The strength of the Spider-Man stories has always been the relationships, whether his romantic one with Gwen Stacey, his family bond with his aunt May or even his turbulent friendship with Harry Osborne. All the relationships here are handled beautifully. Of course at the centre of all this is Peter and Gwen’s relationship. Some of the best moments of the film is them discussing their relationship and their plans for the future, whether it should be together or apart. Garfield and Stone are key to making this work on-screen. Both handling their scenes with intensity and emotion that draws the audience in and gets you rooting for them. They are both also great with comedy and dramatic scenes.

There are some aspects which are lacking in this film. The action scenes are functional but not jaw-dropping and I’m still not completely convinced the mystery about his parents is that interesting. However when a film packs an emotioanl puch as much as this one does then it barely matters.

Rating 4/5-Funny, sweet and heartbreaking good with Garfield and Stone on top form

16 Comments

Filed under Reviews

16 responses to “The Amazing Spider-Man 2

  1. theipc

    HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM Still don’t know if I’m sold on this thing…..

  2. Tom

    Good write-up Lauren, I’m pretty anxious for this weekend to get here already so I can take a crack at it! I loved the first one in this new series.

  3. The performances are definitely the best thing about this reboot for me. I wish the film had taken more time to get to know electro and the goblin instead of packing itself out with more of Peter’s back story – for me there wasn’t enough space for any of the stories to fully develop.

  4. I’ve just been dithering on whether to give this a go (was a bit medium on the first one, for reasons I can’t remember now), and I think you’ve just pushed me over the edge – thanks! Of course, if I don’t like it, I know who to blame… πŸ˜‰

  5. Great review. I loved the film and thought the new lighter more comic book feel of the film made Spider-man finally feel like Spider-man.

    Very much looking forward to the next one, BRING ON SINISTER SIX! πŸ˜€

    • Thanks. I’m glad you loved the film too. Can’t wait for Sinister Six-I just hope it won’t suffer from villian overload.

      • Well if half of them are already established then it takes some of the need for origin building away and some of the six like Craven can be done pretty quickly with flash backs and what have you.

        What I will be nervous about is giving Doc Ock and Vulture enough time to develop. They deserve a little time, well I suppose Doc has already been done so many not as much time as last time. I can’t wait πŸ˜€

      • I guess a lot of it depends on the actors they get to play the sinister six. It’ll be interesting to see who they get, especially for Doc Ock as Alfred Molina was great in that role in Spider-Man 2.

      • I think as long as they go different with Doc Ock then I won’t mind. There are many different versions of him they can adapt. Talent and script is needed to bring the character to life πŸ˜€

  6. Interesting review Lauren, very concise and well-written as always. Though I am not as enthusiastic about this film as you are.

    I saw the film opening day and unfortunately it wasn’t my jam. Now don’t get me wrong, the film was good, and at points it was brilliant, but overall the film was a bit messy and wasn’t a cohesive piece work. I wanted this film to be the best thing ever but it wasn’t quite up to scratch. Best points was the relationship between Peter and Gwen, the small dramatic moments between Peter and Harry and Aunt May, the CGI and Dane DeHaan as Harry Osborn. But other tan that the film felt a bit cluttered, rushed with the villains, had a lazy use of the Rhino and the history with Peter’s parents could have easily been included in the last film.

    But other than that the film was good, just not perfect.

    • Fair enough points. Your right about Rhino and Peter’s parents. The best thing in this film were the performances. Dane DeHaan was great as Harry so it will be interesting to see how they continue his character in the Sinister Six. I think I was mainly happy becuase the Peter/Gwen story worked so well and they had such excellent chemistry which made it all the more heartbreaking.

Leave a Reply

