The Lego Movie

When I first heard that there was going to be a movie based on the popular toy Lego, this did not sound appealing to me at all. However the trailers for the movie actually looked quite good, funny even. So did The Lego Movie live up to the trailers or were my first impressions correct?

Emmett (Chris Pratt) is just an ordinary construction worker, living his life following the instructions set out by Lord Business (Will Farrell). That is until he accidentally finds the Piece of Resistance which becomes attached to his back. Suddenly Emmett finds himself in the centre of an adventure he never could imagine, and only he can fulfil the prophecy and stop Lord Business from his evil plan.

This film is a lot more fun than it has any right to be. Directors Phil Lord and Chris Miller seem to have a habit of making good movies out of unpromising material having manage to make 21 Jump Street a surprise critical and commercial success. Here, they’ve put a lot of effort into making a worthy story filled to the brim with jokes that children and adults will like. They obviously care about making this movie good rather than just calling-it-in like other directors may have done.

The voice actors are all great, everyone has been well casted in their roles. Will Arnett is fab as Batman (can he just be the new Batman instead of Ben Affleck?), and Liam Neeson is so much fun as Bad Cop/Good Cop. Special mention should also go to Chris Pratt who plays a good everyman as Emmett, and is also really funny.

The ending may be a bit divisive for some audience. Personally I liked it as it added an extra element to the film, but it also takes you out of the action for a bit which may annoy many people. Kids might also want to get a bit bored and want to get back to the adventure at hand.

Overall a good comedy that makes you nostalgic for the Lego sets you use to play with as a kid. Maybe I should take my Lego haunted castle back from my nephew…

Rating 3.5/5 – who knew a movie about Lego could be so much fun.

12 Comments

Filed under Reviews

12 responses to “The Lego Movie

  1. It’s one of those rare, but awesome kind of animated flicks that works for just about anybody who watches it. Mainly the older ones, but that’s not to say those younglings won’t have a great time either. Good review Lauren.

    • Thanks. Yeah I was wondering if kids would be a bit confused by what was going on at the end. But it seems to be funny enough to appeal to most people.

  2. Great stuff Lauren. The bit near the end went on a bit too long for me but I still loved the movie

    • Thanks, it was such a fun movie-better than I expected. You’re right the ending did go on a bit, but I did like the message it was trying to make. I really wanted to play with my old lego after the film.

  3. I really liked that one, although I thought it was more aimed at adults than kids. I think a lot of the humour would probably fly right over most kids’ heads.

  4. Afternoon Lauren, great review yo. To be fair I had the same feelings you did about the film prior to its release. But when I saw it I was SO happy. This film is one of the most unique, funny and enjoyable films I have come across in quite some time.

    I loved the cast too, properly one of the best voice casts for a long time. I really like them because some are from some of my favourite TV shows like Community, Parks and Rec and 30 Rock. My favourites would be Chris Pratt as Emmit, Liam Neeson as Good Cop/Bad Cop and of course Will Arnett as Batman, he’s such a badass. He would totally be a great as the new voice for Batman. The way the animators used CGI to recreate the style of stop motion was incredible and creative too.

    The only issue I have with the film ist hat it does go on for a bit and the special message in the film is good, but it is presented in a way that really takes you out of the film (with it being in live action and all).

    • Hi, I’m glad that the people behind the movie took the time to get directors involved to make a good movie as it would have been so easy to just make a film as one long advertisement for Lego. Instead it’s also funny as well as product-placement 🙂

      You’re right it does get a bit long at the end, I can imagine when it comes out on dvd some people would fast-forward that part to get back to the action.

  5. Shame you didn’t like this one more! I adore this film, and I may or may not have seen it twice…don’t judge me. Haha. I do agree that the end teeters for a bit, but for me it pays off. And the movie as a whole is just so much fun. Nice review, lady! 🙂

    • I never judge 😉 I did like this film but I guess I didn’t LOVE it as much as a lot of other people did. It was funny though, and better than I ever thought a Lego movie would be.

  6. meeradarjiyr1

    Great review! I had the same response when I first heard of a film based on Lego lol…However, as we got shown the ‘This is Awesome’ song from the film in our lecture (Don’t ask why!?) it actually looked genuinely funny! Definitely eager to watch this one 🙂

Leave a Reply

