The Vow (2012)

When The Vow was released in 2012 it was the seventh highest grossing romantic drama of all time, but it takes more than that to impress me. So does The Vow have what it takes to draw me in?

Paige (Rachel McAdams) and Leo (Channing Tatum) are the perfect married couple, happily in love. Then they are in a car accident and Paige loses her memories for the past five years, including her whole relationship and marriage to Leo. Now Leo has to try to convince Paige that they were deeply in love and hopefully regain her memory.

First off I have to say if I woke up from an accident and the last five years of my life had been erased BUT on the other hand I was married to Channing Tatum, I wouldn’t be that upset. Or at least I could console myself in his lovely arms.

Anyway back to the film at hand. The beginning is very, very slushy, with flashbacks of Paige and Leo meeting, falling in love, and get married and blah, blah, blah. I was getting a bit bored. However the film picks up when Paige wakes up from her coma and thinks Leo is her doctor and not her husband (awkward!).

The film does well at showing Leo’s side of the story, how much he loves his wife and how heartbreaking it is that she doesn’t remember any of the moments they shared together. Perhaps too well as sometimes you feel like Paige is a massive bitch for rejecting poor Leo, even though realistically you couldn’t expect her to just fall straight back into a life she can’t recall.

The lead actors play their roles well. Tatum is sympathetic as the poor husband trying to get his wife to love him again, while McAdams handles the complex emotions her character goes through with aplomb. The rest of the cast is more underwritten. Sam Neill and Jessica Lange feel particularly underused as Paige’s rich parents who are – of course – not so keen on Leo. Although Lange does get a good emotionally charged scene with McAdams later in the film. It was also good to see Orphan Black‘s Tatina Maslany in a small role as Leo’s put upon employee and friend.

Slushy, romantic and although I did try to resist I fell for it’s charm in the end.

Rating 3.5/5 – A film for hardcore romantics only

6 Comments

Filed under Reviews

6 responses to “The Vow (2012)

  1. Ive actually seen this! I don’t remember much about it other than McAdam’s character was horrible!

  2. I didn’t mind this one as much as some. Maybe because when I saw it, I was actually in the presence of a lady I was taking out on a date. Actually, that’s about it! Good review Lauren.

  3. You should watch this when you’re all pregnant and hormonal. It just takes it to a whole other level. 🙂

Leave a Reply

