And The Oscar Goes to…My Prediction for the Oscars 2014

Here we go again. After a busy award season, tonight is finally the big event: The Oscars. Last year I made my predictions of who was going to win and got 5 out of 6 correct. Will I get a perfect score this year?

So let’s have a look at this year’s contenders:

Best Picture:

American Hustle, Captain Phillips, Dallas Buyers Club, Gravity, Her, Nebraska, Philomena, 12 Years a Slave, The Wolf of Wall Street

Some tough competition here but for me I think it will be between Gravity and 12 Years a Slave (as much as I loved The Wolf of Wall Street I doubt a comedy will win, especially one that has the controversy this one has). I’m really torn which way the voters will go. But for me I think 12 Years a Slave packed such an emotional impact on me that I’m going to have to throw my support for this film and hopefully the Academy will feel the same. But it definitely is not a sure thing. American Hustle has a lot of support behind it so it may snatch it away from 12 Years a Slave and Gravity.

My prediction: 12 Years a Slave

Best Actor:

Christian Bale (American Hustle), Bruce Dern (Nebraska), Leonardo DiCaprio (The Wolf of Wall Street), Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave), Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club)

I haven’t seen Nebraska so I can’t comment on Bruce Dern’s role-although I heard he was very good. The other actors were all great in their roles. Personally I would probably go for Leonardo DiCaprio or Chiwetel Ejiofor, two very different roles but both breathtakingly good. But I think the momentum is behind Matthew McConaughey, so barring a major upset he’ll be taking the award home on the night.

My Prediction: Matthew McConaughey.

Best Actress:

Amy Adams (American Hustle), Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine), Sandra Bullock (Gravity), Judi Dench (Philomena), Meryl Streep (August: Osage County)

As much I love Amy Adams I think this will be another year she goes empty-handed. Sandra Bullock may be in with a shot at the title but from all the buzz I’ve been hearing about Blue Jasmine this is likely to be Cate Blanchett’s year.

My Prediction: Cate Blanchett

Best Supporting Actor:

Barkhad Abdi (Captain Phillips), Bradley Cooper (American Hustle), Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave), Jonah Hill (The Wolf of Wall Street), Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)

Personally I’d like Michael Fassbender to get this award as his terrifying slave owner was mesmerizing, but I think Jared Leto has this in the bag for his portrayal as the tragic transgender Reyon

My prediction: Jared Leto

Best Supporting Actress:

Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine), Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle), Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave), Julia Roberts (August: Osage County), June Squibb (Nebraska)

This could be interesting. The main contenders for this award is Hollywood darling Jennifer Lawrence and new girl on the block Lupita Nyong’o. Both are deserving nominees. As much as I love Jennifer Lawrence and the ground she walks on, I’m going to put my vote behind Nyong’o-just don’t be surprised if Lawrence photobombs her.

My prediction: Lupita Nyong’o

Best Director:

American Hustle (David O. Russell), Gravity (Alfonso Cuarón), Nebraska (Alexander Payne), 12 Years a Slave (Steve McQueen), The Wolf of Wall Street (Martin Scorsese)

As much as it pains me to think The Wolf of Wall Street may go home empty-handed I think this is again a battle between 12 Years a Slave‘s McQueen and Gravity‘s Cuaron. Usually whoever gets Best Picture gets Best Director as well so if my above prediction is right then McQueen would walk away a winner-and deservedly so. But I think what Cuaron did with Gravity was amazing, technically it’s a marvel and I think Cuaron will be awarded for that. Either way I’d be happy (and if Scorsese did somehow manage to win it from them I’d be pleased with that too).

My Prediction: Alfonso Cuaron

So those were my opinions, let me know what you think will win in the comments below, or if you’re reading this after the Oscars have been announced let me know what you think of the results.

15 Comments

Filed under Opinion

15 responses to “And The Oscar Goes to…My Prediction for the Oscars 2014

  1. Excellent choices, I really want Nyong’o to win.

  2. You picked all my favourites too, the only shocks I can see happening is Gravity taking best picture but yet again that wouldn’t be too much of a shock! Good picks and post 🙂

  3. I hope Wolf doesn’t go home empty handed but that could happen. Good picks.

  4. Good choices. Think Gravity will win Best Film though.

  5. Well, you were spot on with those predictions!

  6. http://iwatch2014.wordpress.com

    Well done on your predictioins but you have to admit this year was pretty obvious…:) I seriously think that the ‘Academy’ is rigged sometimes…lol

    • What you mean Matthew Mconoughey wasn’t the outsider for Best Actor! Total Shock! 😉 I was hoping I’d be wrong and The Wolf of Wall Street would dominate the awards but sadly that didn’t happen. I would have loved to have seen everyone’s faces.

  7. These are pretty good. And I don’t think it was that obvious. well done.

Leave a Reply

