Why is there no movie for Marvel’s The Runaways?

There have been a lot of news recently about Marvel’s film franchises with the casting for Ant Man being released and promotional stills and artwork for The Guardians of the Galaxy being shown to the public. However the Marvel project I’m most excited about (apart from the next Captain America film) is one that doesn’t seem to be heading to our screens anytime soon.

I was in the library looking through the graphic novel section when I came across a Marvel series called The Runaways. Intreaged I had a quick look at it and quite liked the idea behind it all. However the volume I picked up was number four and I hate starting in the middle of a series, so unable to find a copy of it anywhere I ordered the first volume Pride and Joy online. Here’s a brief discription:

At some point in their lives, all young people believe their parents are evil – but what if they really are? Meet Alex, Karolina, Gert, Chase, Molly and Nico – whose lives are about to take an unexpected turn. When these six young friends discover their parents are all secretly super-powered villains, the shocked teens find strength in one another. Together, they run away from home and straight into the adventure of their lives – vowing to turn the tables on their evil legacy.

I read the first volume and I was hooked. It’s a great idea. The characters were likeable and feel like real teenagers put into an extraordinary situation. I was also impressed at how diversed the characters were and for once there were 4 girls to 2 boys which made a nice change. The plot was exciting and thrilling while also having plenty of humour that I love. I liked the way it was drawn too.

Granted I’ve only read the first volume but I’ve read lots of reviews saying how good the series is. Which leads to the my title question-why does Marvel have no plans to bring The Runaways to the big screen?

According to the internet there was plans to make a film of The Runaways and were even begining to cast some of the lead roles. But then they decided to focus their attentions on The Avengers instead. I loved The Avengers film but its a shame The Runaways never got their chance to shine. But actually I think that it would perhaps work better as a tv show as the episodic narrative would suit the story and allow the multiple characters room to grow each week. However it seems like the powers-that-be are focusing their attentions on Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D and their new Netflix Defenders shows so any plans for The Runaways seem to be on the backburner. But still I thought I’d share with people this fun and exciting series, so if you’re looking for new seires to follow The Runaways is definately worth your time.

Has anyone read the series? Is this the type of show you would want to watch? Or are you sick of Marvel and superhero movies/films and want something completely different? Let me know in the comments below.

For those who want to find more on this series can follow this link:

http://marvel.com/comics/characters/1010747/runaways

16 Comments

Filed under Opinion

16 responses to “Why is there no movie for Marvel’s The Runaways?

  1. Yeah Runaways would definitely make for a great story, be it on TV or movies. It brings a whole new perspective on the universe that none of the other movies or Agents of SHIELD are providing. Ideally it would be part of Phase 3 along with Black Panther and Captain Marvel, so fingers crossed they get back to it soon! And definitely keep reading, it just gets better!

    • As soon as payday comes I’ll order the next volume-glad to hear it gets better cause its amazing at the moment. I just hope they don’t leave it too long to bring The Runaways to our screens otherwise viewers might start getting Marvel fatigue- I doubt I will though.

      • Yeah I’m surprised how they’ve kept it fresh enough that I’m still excited for most of their upcoming movies. And bringing in guys like Edgar Wright and James Gunn keeps it interesting. I think Joe Cornish (Attack the Block) would be a good fit for Runaways, though I’d rather see him do something original than work for Marvel anyway

      • Having the right director definately helps and has been key to their movies doing well. Cornish would be a good choice and a Marvel project would pay well and help him finance his own original work as well.

  2. theipc

    Never heard of The Runaways but I wish someone would ball up and make a movie / R-Rated cable TV show regarding the Lucifer series….

  3. At least a million good comics that need adaptation, if the films keep making money they will adapt more and more fringe material 😀

    Saying that they still haven’t adapted Black Panther so I wouldn’t hold your breath 😦

  4. Hi Lauren, as soon as I read the title for this post I HAD to comment on it (even though I’m a few days late),

    Ever since around 2012 I’ve been waiting for an adaptation of the Runaways comics. My sister is a MASSIVE fan of that series and it one of the first and only comic series that she totally into. While I’ve not read any myself, from what I’ve researched it seems like a great concept and would lead its so well to a live-action adaptation. Unfortunately the fact is that script got left in the past and the project’s been shelved.

    I think that regardless of a film like The Avengers, you’d still have a great deal of unique material to mine from these comics. If Marvel Studios won’t make it I reckon give it to another studio to make.

    • I gave it to my twin sister to read and it was one of the few comics that she’s really into. We both hope it will get made for the screen eventually. It is an excellent concept.
      If you get a chance you should borrow it from your sister.

Leave a Reply

