Goodbye 2013-Hello 2014!

Another year gone, and another load of movies that I have laughed, cried and despaired over. So here is my top ten films of 2013 (in no particular order)…

1: The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

Ok I said these films are in no particular order but The Hunger Games: Catching Fire is my film of the year. Exciting, thrilling and full of great acting, particularly from the girl on fire Jennifer Lawrence.

2: Iron Man 3

After the unimpressive Iron Man 2, director Shane Black bring Tony Stark back to his best with some hilarious lines and exciting action sequences.

3: Before Midnight

Although not quite on par with the previous Before films, I still loved catching up with Jesse and Celine in this thoughtful and realistic look on long-term relationships.

4: Much Ado About Nothing

Joss Whedon and Shakespeare turn out to be a dream combination with this black and white version of the classic play set in Joss Whedon’s own house (which was designed by his wife). Funny, romantic and full of joy.

5: The Bling Ring

Sofia Coppola best film to date shows us the self-obsessed world of the rich kids so fixated on fame and celebrity they emulate their idols by burglarizing their houses. Emma Watson stands out as the vapid Nikki.

6: The Conjuring

In my humble opinion the scariest film of the year. While not overly original this supernatural horror from Saw director James Wan will make you jump out of your seat. It also features themost creepy doll I’ve seen in a while.

7: You’re Next

While not quite as scary as The Conjuring, You’re Next still features some cool scares, lots of black humour and plenty of gore. Plus a great kick-ass heroine in the form of Sharni Vinson’s Erin.

8: Gravity

Spectacular special effects makes Gravity the most beautiful looking film of 2013. It’s also strong for its story, Alfonso Cuaron’s direction and the acting talents of Sandra Bullock and George Clooney. No doubt it’s due to win plenty during award season and rightly so.

9: Thor: The Dark world

The God of Thunder and his mischievous brother Loki is back with this superior sequel. Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston are great to watch in a film that’s funny and action packed.

10: Frozen

This delightful Disney film about two very different sisters is packed filled with jokes and heart. Great family viewing that adults will enjoy just as much as the kids. Be prepared to fall in love with Olaf the snowman.

I prefer to mostly focus on the positives of 2013 but some consideration must be given for the films that have not fared as well in 2013. I was probably the only person who didn’t like Despicable Me 2, and I also was bored by the ironically titled Epic. However there was one film so bad, so awful that I have to give it the title of Worst Film of 2013, this goes to ( imaginary drumroll please)….

Diana

The last few years of Princess Diana’s life and her love affair with a surgeon is brought to the screen in a film which no one can take seriously. Admittedly I enjoyed watching this film in a perverse kind of way but I can’t think of a worse film in 2013 in terms of script, acting etc.

But those films were sooo 2013, now as we look forward to 2014 here are some of the movies that I’m highly anticipating

Drama

An English soldier struggles with his memories of torture in Japan in The Railway Man starring Colin Firth, George Clooney’s World War 2 adventure The Monuments Men and the story of a free man forced into slavery in 12 Years a Slave which has already released in America to great acclaim.

Horror

I haven’t hard much about decent horror films next year but there’s some good buzz about conspiracy theory horror The Banshee Chapter, despite not knowing much more about the plot itself.

Superheroes

There’s competition between the superhero movies next year and I’m highly anticipating The Amazing Spider-Man 2 and X-Men: Days of Future Past  but it’s Captain America: The Winter Soldier that I’m most looking forward to thanks to that amazing trailer.

Movie Adaptation of a TV show

 As a fan of the teenage detective show Veronica Mars-The Movie I’m hoping the Kickstarter funded film version will  be worth the wait.

Action

Indonesian Action/Thriller The Raid was my film of 2012, so expectations for The Raid 2 are through the roof.

Mysterious Christopher Nolan project

I have no idea what Interstellar is about, even after seeing the initial trailer but the fact that its directed by Christopher Nolan has me excited for his new release set for late 2014.

Franchise

And finally we’re one step closer to the end as  The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part One makes its appearance at the close of 2014. Can Katniss go through any more trauma? What do you think?

Do you agree with my list? What films are you looking forward to in 2014? Is there a worst film this year than Diana? Let me know what you think.

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Goodbye 2013-Hello 2014!

  1. Great list. I can’t wait for the Veronica Mars movie!!!!

  2. I loved Catching Fire too! And very excited for Interstellar. Looking forward to seeing you in the blogging world next year, too!

  3. Great list of top movies. Catching Fire is in my top 10 as well! I’m also excited for Interstellar even though I only vaguely know what it’s about.

    • I just hope the next Hunger Games is as good as Catching Fire-but I can’t imagine being disapointed. I wish I knew more about Interstellar-damn Christopher Nolan keeping us in the dark! Thanks for commenting 🙂

  4. Great list! just saw You’re Next recently and thought it was really good! Happy New Year and look forward to another year of blog-posts 🙂

    • Thanks, I thought You’re Next was a great horror film, good amount of gore and dark, dark humour. Lots of fun! Glad you enjoyed it too. Hope you had a happy new year!

  5. Hi Lauren! Sorry I’m late but I never got a email notification about this post until now, weak! Anyways great film list for 2013, for the most part I approve (though I’m surprised you didn’t order them, that’s kind of cheating lol). Gutted I didn’t get around to watching The Bling Ring, but I was even more pissed off that I missed Joss Whedon’s Much Ado About Nothing which had a limited screening in ONE bloody cinema in Sheffield. 😦

    Can’t wait for 2014, bring on the films, I hope its better than last year. 😛

    • No problem 🙂 I know i probably should have ranked them but i couldn’t make up my mind what order they should be in. I’ll do better next year. Promise!
      I had to really search for a cinema near me that showed Much Ado About Nothing. If you get the chance to watch the film on dvd or something then its really worth it.
      Heres to better films in 2014.

  6. Good post and happy new year 😀

Leave a Reply

