Gravity

Everything I seem to read about this suggests it will be one of the films of the year and a shoo in for Oscar glory. Safe to say my expectations were rather high when I went to see this.

Sandra Bullock and George Clooney star as astronauts caught out when a space walk is interrupted by debris from a Russian satellite (don’t you just hate it when that happens?). With Oxygen running low and a second wave of debris on the way they have to find a way to survive.

As the first film I’ve seen in Imax 3D  I have to say it was well worth it! The opening scene of watching Earth from space is breathtaking, Clooney’s Matt is right when he says it’s a beautiful sight. The visuals throughout this film is amazing, no doubt this film will win big in the special effect awards.

It’s not just the visuals that were impressive, the film is brilliantly directed by Alfonso Cuaron. Whether its a wide shot of space or pov shots from the astronauts you are completely captured by the film. The camera often follows the astronauts as they move through space, often losing control-so prepared to feel very dizzy by Sandra Bullock floating around and around in circles. The film is so tense I often found myself short of breath as I was so concerned for the characters lack of oxygen I was forgetting to breathe.

George Clooney is strong as veteran astronaut Matt, going from his usual Clooney cheeky, funny self, to being calm and direct when instructing Bullock’s nervy rookie Ryan. Bullock handles the challenges of the film well, intense close-ups for long periods showing Ryan’s distress, giving potentially cheesy monologues to herself which she deals with aplomb.

Sometimes the film felt more like an endurance than something I could sit down and enjoy. But there’s no denying there’s something special about Gravity and it fully deserves all the praise I’ve been reading about it.

Rating 4/5-spectacular visuals and great acting brings this space drama to life

15 Comments

Filed under Reviews

15 responses to “Gravity

  1. Great review only just saw the film myself. Really enjoyed it and I am glad it has done so well 😀

  2. Good review. I can’t say I loved this. However, came pretty damn close with the way this thing looked. Only problem was that the script was pretty badly-written.

    • Thank you. The visuals alone lifted this movie to another level. I get your point about the script, the dialogue wasn’t the strongest part of the film. However I felt the actors were able to make it seem better than what it was.

  3. Glad you liked it, I thought it was a phenomenal experience, visually. I did think the story and some of the dialogue was a little iffy at times though.

    • It did feel like the experience was an endurance test at times-I felt exhausted after seeing the film as I was so engrossed in the outcome! The visuals and camerawork were amazing. Some of Bullock’s monologues to herself were a bit chessy though but the rest of the film was great.

  4. So the hype is well-deserved? Great review!

    • For me all the praise was well-deserved. Visually it’ll be hard to think of a better film this year. Sometimes the dialogue wasn’t the best but for me it didn’t matter so much due to the actors and how amazing the whole thing look. Thanks for commenting!

  5. Hi Lauren! Cracking review yo, I really liked the film, it wasn’t the most amazing film in the world like I expected it to be, however it was still an incredible experience. Glad you commented on not only the excellence of that opening shot, but also the rest of the camera work and the awesomeness of seeing it in IMAX. Gravity is an experience and while it scared the life out of me because I hate the concept of being stranded in space, however I endured it and liked it.

    • Hi thanks for commenting, I’m glad you liked the review. Although I hate having to pay extra to see a film it really was worth seeing in Imax as it did add to the experience. It definately was an endurance at times but one I’m glad I experienced if nothing else than for the amazing visuals of space.

  6. Nice review Lauren. I loved the movie but I agree with it being a bit of an endurance test – it’s pretty intense and suspenseful throughout and I felt drained after watching it, and was completely absorbed throughout it. I loved it, but can’t quite imagine ever sitting down to watch it casually in future.

  7. meeradarjiyr1

    Wow awesome review, sounds like a great film! Heard some great stuff, its definitely one I’m not going to miss out on!

    • It really was a great film, although be prepared for your senses and nerves to take a battering! I definately recommend seeing it on the big screen while its still around to get the full experience. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

