The Internship

Owen Wilson and Vince Vaughn team up again eight years after their hit comedy Wedding Crashes entered our screens. Can the magic be repeated?

Billy (Vaughn) and Nick (Wilson) have been made redunant from their work as salesmen. Desperate for work they apply as Interns for Google, depsite not knowing anything about technology. Split into groups where only one team will win, can Billy and Nick prove they’ve got what it takes to work for Google?

I was not expecting this film to be very good. All the films I read seemed to suggest this film was rubbish and not at all funny. So I was quite surprised to find myself laughing at lot during the film. Its nothing original but Vaughn and Wilson have the same great chemistry they had in Wedding Crashes and put their all into a so-so script.

There are plenty of failings in this film. All the other interns and Google workers are sterotypes.  Poor Rose Byrne was stuck in another underwritten female role (she needs to sack her manager, she can do much better than these roles as anyone whose seen her in Damages knows she can be great given the chance).  Vaughn and Wilson are by no means stretching themselves in this film, it would be nice to see them do something difference.

Ok so it’s not a classic film by any means but considering I was expecting a huge disaster on my hands  I was pleasently surprised.

Rating 3/5-its no Wedding Crashes but it had enough laughs to keep me enternained

9 Comments

Filed under Reviews

9 responses to “The Internship

  1. Good review Lauren. Seems to me that Wilson and Vaughn should grow-up and give more mature comedies a shot, while they still can. Because they’re young, wild and free-wheeling dude act just isn’t working anymore.

    • It does seem like they are playing it safe when this should be the time in their careers to take some risks. Wilson, espcially I think could handle more serious roles.

  2. Tom

    NIce review Lauren. I actually was one of the very few who liked this a lot.

  3. I thought it was a pretty great film. You’re very right about the stereotypes, though.

  4. I really enjoyed this one. Probably the X-Men references just barely put it over the edge to add to my to buy list.

Leave a Reply

