Diana

It was not my choice to watch this film. One of my friends really wanted to go and see it so I thought I’d be nice and go with her (the things I do in the name of friendship). However I don’t regret going to see it, if only because its one of the funniest things I’ve seen in ages. Not that I think that was ever the filmmakers intention.

Diana is about the last two years in the life of Diana (Naomi Watts), Princess of Wales, former wife of Prince Charles and mother of Prince William and Harry. In particular her doomed relationship with heart surgeon Hasnat Khan (Naveen Andrews).

It feels as though someone has adapted a Mills and Boons novel and just penciled in Diana and Hasnat’s names into the script. Truly the script is terrible. I don’t know how much of the film is meant to be accurate but the conversations and situations sounds false and clichéd. Diana and Hasnat are portrayed as this big love affair pulled apart by her position with the royal family and his obligations to his job and culture. However Diana just comes across as a dumb bimbo in some scenes and then a master manipulator when she tries to get Hasnat’s attentions. It’s a shame her achievements in life are glossed over, it comes across that her charity works were all to impress Hasnat and keep his attention.  Its obvious those involved thought they’d be on to an Oscar winner with this film but instead whats been created has to be one of the worse films of 2013.

Even with a bad script you’d think actors as talented as Naomi Watts and Naveen Andrews would be able to rise above it. Unfortunately that’s not the case. For one thing the actors seem to be having two different acting styles. Andrews tries to play the role of Hasnat straight but you can see in his eyes he wishes to be anywhere else than in this movie. Watt’s struggles with Diana’s distinct mannerisms and coupled with a dreadful script Diana almost seems like a parody rather than a straight-forward drama. Watts is better than this so I’m sure she can recover from this embarrassment, however she should be prepared to receive a Razzie rather than an Oscar during the 2014 award season.

If there’s anything positive to get from this film is that its unintentionally hilarious. Not a scene goes by without a bad line of dialogue or a terribly acted moment. It’s a film that’s hard to take seriously, which considering the woman who the film is about is rather a shame.

Rating 1.5/5-avoid this and watch one of Naomi Watt’s other movies instead

10 Comments

Filed under Reviews

10 responses to “Diana

  1. theipc

    Sounds terrible… : )

  2. Couldn’t pay me to watch it 😀

  3. It sounds hilarious! At least you got some enjoyment out of it!

  4. Haha I feel for you yo, from all the bad review I saw of it, Diana sounded like an endurance test. I never even knew the film was coming out until just a few weeks before the UK release and when I saw the trailer I knew the film wouldn’t be my cup of tea. However, when Mark Kermode ripped into the film on his Radio 5 show with Simon Mayo, I knew this was a film I had to avoid and your review has cemented those bad things I’ve heard.

    Good review yo 🙂

Leave a Reply

