My Unpopular Film Opinions Part 2: The Reckoning

So here we are again, following on from my earlier post My Unpopular Film Opinions, I’m here to divulge other embarrassing opinions that most people respond to with gasp and horror!

1) I prefer Greese 2 over Greese

Greese is obviously a classic musical and rightly loved by everyone, but I’ve always had a soft spot for its unloved sibling. Yes it’s ridiculous but that’s part of the fun. How can I not love a film that has a song named Reproduction? That rhymes cycle with Michael? That brings Frenchie back to Rydell High School only for her to disappear half way through the film and never mention again? Plus I thought Michelle Pfeiffer was really cool in this.

2) I still think Titanic is amazing

For some reason it became cool to hate Titanic. It seemed to happen right after the film swept the Oscars.  So when I admit my love of the film I get met with horror. I’m sorry but yes damn it I think it did deserve to win those Oscars. I can’t help it that I cry every time I see this film (seriously it’s a bit of a problem, I may need help). Most people assume it’s because I must be in love with Leonardo Dicaprio or something. Funnily enough I think I was the only girl on the planet at the time who didn’t find him attractive (I didn’t like his hair-I was really picky at that age). It may be cheesy, and I do get annoyed by the whole “I’ll never let go” line but if I never need a good tear-jerker I can always rely on Kate & Leo to help me out.

3) I don’t think The Phantom Menace is that bad

Granted I’m not in any way an expert on Star Wars films. But I just didn’t think the film was as bad as everyone said. I guess for fans it was so highly anticipated that it was bound to disappoint. But for me I was just happy to see Ewan McGregor and Liam Neeson,  the special effects were good, and I enjoyed the pod race. Yes it’s not nearly as good as The Empire Strikes Back and I don’t have an overwhelming need to see the film again  but I’d rather watch that again then sit through the tedious love story in Attack of the Clones.

I will admit that Jar Jar Binks was a terrible character though. See I’m not all bad.

4 Comments

Filed under Opinion

4 responses to “My Unpopular Film Opinions Part 2: The Reckoning

  1. theipc

    I like this post : )

    My wife LOVES Grease 2!

    • She has great taste! The film does seems to have a small cult following. It’s like a secret club for those who have this film as their guilty pleasure.

  2. I’ve actually never watched Grease though I’m familiar with the songs. Titanic is awesome, I missed the 3d rerelease.

    • Glad to hear somone else is a fan of titanic! i missed the 3d version as well. Probably for the best- i cried so much the first time in the cinema i’d only embarass myself again.

Leave a Reply

