And The Oscar Goes To….My Predictions for the Oscars 2013

Its almost that time again. The biggest night of the film industry and everyone will be wondering who will go home a winner and who will be this year’s “it should have been them/they were robbed/i can’t believe they won it instead of” etc,etc.

Normally by this time it’s clear who the winners will be and the night becomes completely predictable. But for once there could actually be some upsets.

So here are my predictions for the main Oscars categories.

Best Pitcure

Amour, Argo, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Django Unchained, Les Misérables, Life of Pi, Lincoln, Silver Linings Playbook, Zero Dark Thirty

Still can’t believe Skyfall missed out on a best picture nomination. But that aside this is one of the widest Best Picture category in years. As much as I’d love to see the look on the audience’s faces if Django Unchanined won my prediction is on Argo. Ben Affleck’s thrid directorial film was a tense, exciting thriller and has a lot of buzz at the moment. Also everyone loves a comeback and who would have thought a few years ago that Ben-Pearl Harbour-Affleck would be up for an Oscar.

My prediction: Argo

Best Actor

Bradley Cooper, Daniel Day-Lewis, Hugh Jackman, Joaquin Phoenix, Denzel Washington

As much as I loved Bradley Cooper and Hugh Jackman in Silver Linings Playbook and Les Miserables respectively, its surely going to be Daniel Day Lewis’ night. He’s won it twice before and I’m sure his turn in Lincoln will score him a third.

My prediction: Daniel Day-Lewis

Best Actress

Jessica Chastain, Jennifer Lawrence, Emmanuelle Riva, Quvenzhané Wallis, Naomi Watts

If I was giving out the Oscars I’d be handing them all out to Jennifer Lawrence. She’s one of my favourite young actresses at the moment  and was amazing in Silver Lining Playbook.  But she’s got strong compitition from Zero Dark Thirty’s Chastain and Amour’s Riva (getting a lift from her win at the Baftas). It’s going to be close between them all and although I think Lawrence will just about get it I wouldn’t be surprised if a split vote meant a shock win in this category.

My prediction: Jennifer Lawrence

Best Supporting Actor

Alan Arkin, Robert De Niro, Phillip Semour Hoffman, Tommy Lee Jones, Christoph Waltz

Another wide open category. It could go to any one of the above, who are all previous winners by the way. I think its between Tommy Lee Jones (Lincoln) and Christoph Waltz (Django Unchanined). My money is on Waltz. He won before with a collaboration with Tarantino and his performance in Django was brillant. Again it could easily be another wild card winner in this one.

My prediction: Christoph Waltz

Best Supporting Actress

Amy Adams, Sally Fields, Anne Hathaway, Helen Hunt, Jacki Weaver

This category has Hathaway’s name all over it (I wouldn’t be surprised if her name hasn’t already been carved into the award). She was exceptional in Les Miserables and it doesn’t seem like Les Miserables will be winning in any other of the major categories, and the Acadamy likes to spread the wealth amongst the nominees so she has this in the bag. Any possible upset will probably come from Sally Fields (Lincoln). Although as a big Amy Adams fan I would love to see her come away with something but I think tonight is Hathaway’s night.

My prediction: Anne Hathaway

Best Director

Amour (Michael Haneke), Beasts of the Southern Wild (Benh Zeitlin), Life of Pi (Ang Lee), Silver Linings Playbook (David O. Russell), Lincoln (Steven Spielberg)

An odd list. Its not that any of these are bad, its just strange for its omissions. Affleck, Hooper, Bigalow, Tarantino are surprisingly snubbed and with Argo the favourite to get the Best Picture nomination, it’ll be interesting to see who’ll get the nod for best director. I think it will be between Lee and Spielberg with Speilberg just pipping Lee to the win. It would be nice though if this is one of the categories with a wild card win, as it would be nice to shake things up a bit.

My prediction: Steven Spielberg

Not long to go now we’ll soon find out if my preditions are scarily accurate or halariously far off.

2 Comments

Filed under Opinion

2 responses to “And The Oscar Goes To….My Predictions for the Oscars 2013

  1. An interesting prediction. I wonder if Jennifer Lawrence will get an Oscar so early in her career, and for a romantic comedy as well. It will definitely be a night full of surprises!

Leave a Reply

