Goodbye 2012 Hello 2013

We are now in the New Year. So it’s time to look back on what films I enjoyed and what I’m looking forward to this year.

 2012 has given us some great films. Top of them all, for me, would be the Indonesian movie The Raid. The film is a wonderful collaboration of Welsh director and writer Gareth Evans and actor Iko Uwais. Uwais also choreographed the fights scenes (along with fellow co-star Yayan Ruhian) which use the traditional Indonesian martial art pencak silat.  It features some of the most creative action sequences of recent years and I’m excited to see what Evans and Uwais comes up with next.

Besides The Raid I also loved The Avengers (did anyone actually call it by its UK release title Avenger’s Assemble?), The Hunger Games, Cabin In The Woods and Silver Linings Playbook.

But enough of looking back, what is there to come?

Well Hollywood aren’t going to stop remaking classic horror films anytime soon, so if I have to see one remake this year then I might as well give The Evil Dead at try. Personally I preferred The Evil Dead 2 to the original (probably has something to do with the whole tree-rape thing. Actually it’s a lot to do with the tree-rape thing). But I do remember how creepy The Evil Dead was and how much they manage to do on a small budget, and with Sam Rami having a big involvement in the remake could this remake be any good?

Having devoured The Hunger Games books and then encouraged all my family and friends to read it (I say encouraged, I mean hounded them) I really enjoyed the film adaptation last year. It also stars one of my favourite young actresses at the moment-Jennifer Lawrence. So fingers cross the sequel Catching Fire will live up to the huge expectations I have.

Speaking of huge expectations, 2013 will finally see Star Trek: Into Darkness released in cinemas. How excited am I? When I was at the cinema watching the trailers before The Hobbit began, I nearly choked on my popcorn when I saw  the trailer of Chris Pine and co on my screen. If that wasn’t enough the amazingly named Benedict Cumberbatch is the villain! Sherlock v.s Kirk. I may collapse at the screening.

On the other sci-fi front, I’m interested in seeing how The Host turns out. A love triangle in two bodies, The Host concerns aliens called Souls who take over humans but find they can’t quite control the feelings of their human bodies. I haven’t been the biggest fan of Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight series and The Host isn’t perfect but I think it has a potential to be an intelligent sci-fi film regarding what it means to be human. If it’s done right. I’m also excited about Guillermo del Toro’s Pacific Rim, basically it’s giant robots battling giant monsters and starring Idris Elba. I don’t need to know anything else about this film to know that it’s going to be amazing.

Over to my girlie, musical side, I’ve never seen the stage show of Les Miserables but the film version starring Hugh Jackman and Anne Hathaway has already got Oscar buzz written all over it and I for one can’t wait to see the big screen spectacular.

I’m sure as the year continues I’ll see many other amazing films, and hopefully not too many bad ones. Well one can hope!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Goodbye 2012 Hello 2013

  1. Hey dude, I have nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogger Award! Please don’t feel obliged to accept, I picked your blog among others because it’s a dam good read! If you do want to receive it, follow the link 🙂 http://myreelpov.wordpress.com/2013/01/06/ive-nominated-you-for-the-super-sweet-blogger-award/ THANKS!

Leave a Reply

