My Unpopular Film Opinions

There are some films which are considered universally loved by all and others which should be despised until the end of time. These are considered such universal truths that if you admit to having a different opinion everyone looks at you with such scorn and hatred that you wish you could vaporise into a million different pieces and scurry away from embarrassment.

I am now revealing some of my unpopular opinions and hope the gods don’t strike me down in horror.

  1.     I prefer the 2005 Pride and Prejudice film to the BBC series

To state this in public would probably see me set upon by angry Austin fans. I have quite a few friends who love the series, and I can understand why it appeals to them however I would rather watch the film. Maybe it’s because I watched the film first before the tv series, or the fact that while I think Colin Firth is attractive and a good actor I don’t really fancy him. It’s also beautifully shot and has a great supporting cast. Some people may question my taste but shrug it off without a word until I say this…

  1. I think Keira Knightley can act (sometimes)

Yes Knightley isn’t always the easiest actress to warm too and she does seem limited in certain roles but I think she does her best work with director Joe Wright. They obviously complement each other having worked on Pride and Prejudice and Atonement together, hopefully they can continue this trend with third collaboration in Anna Karenina out later this month.

3.  I’m underwhelmed by 2001: A Space Odyssey

I often see this film in people’s top 10 movies of all time. I tried to watch it once and I’m not saying it’s a bad film. Visually it’s very impressive and I can see why it inspired so many generations of film makers. Unfortunately I find it a difficult film to care about and got a little bored watching it. There’s plenty to admire but I can’t bring myself to say I love it or that I’d watch it again.

4. I enjoy watching Blade Trinity

I’ve seen so much hate for this film and I agree with a lot of what said about it. Blade is marginalised and ripped of any personality, killing off Whistler was a huge mistake, Dracula is a wasted villain and it’s not as good as its predecessors.

However if you accept it for what it is there’s some enjoyment to be had in Blade Trinity. First of all it is so dumb it enters into the so bad- its-good category with so many characters acting comically stupid (who do the Nightstalkers leave to watch the security cameras-a blind woman!).

Then there’s the fact that Blade Trinity features one of my favourite combinations

Ryan Reynolds plus beard minus shirt = hot (also for this formula see The Amityville Horror remake which has Ryan Reynolds plus beard minus shirt with an axe chopping wood = even hotter).

So that was a taster of my unpopular film opinions. Try not to judge me too harshly, after all we all have views that we’re ashamed to share with others.

1 Comment

Filed under Opinion

One response to “My Unpopular Film Opinions

  1. I am impressed because all those form a lineup of well accounted and very reasonable likeable list 🙂

Leave a Reply

